Ireland | c. 1830
The beautifully figured oval Connemara top is supported on a tapering octagonal column of Kilkenny black marble leading to a quadripartite platform incorporating four carved claw feet on brass castors. The column has finely shaped collars top and bottom. The base and feet are sculpted out of one block of marble. Unusually the base is elongated on two sides to reflect the oval top.
In 1822 the Joyce family from Galway opened up a quarry in Clifden called the Streamstown quarry. Thus the Joyce name synonymous with Connemara marble. This rare and iconic marble has been supplied to a few internationally famous buildings.
Height: 31” (79cm); Width: 33” (84cm); Depth: 25” (63cm)